fbpx

> Our Projects

Le projet Frotet couvre 37 840 ha de la ceinture de roches vertes Frotet-Evans Archéenne dans la sous-province géologique d’Opatica au Québec. La propriété est adjacente à la mine Troilus Au-Cu, qui a été productrice dans le passé, et couvre plusieurs zones de déformation majeures associées à des perspectives d’or orogénique connues, ainsi qu’à la stratigraphie abritant des gisements VMS ailleurs dans la ceinture.

Le projet est situé à 100 kilomètres au nord de Chibougamau, au Québec. Il existe des infrastructures favorables dans la zone du projet notamment un vaste réseau routier forestier ainsi que la Route-du-Nord traversant la partie sud-ouest de la propriété. Une ligne de transport d’électricité traverse également la propriété qui a fourni de l’électricité à la mine Troilus.

La ceinture de roches vertes Archéenne Frotet-Evans (2793-2755 Ma) est composée d’assemblages volcaniques dominés par des roches méta-volcaniques mafiques à felsiques. Les séquences volcaniques inférieures sont surtout mafiques, composées de komatiites basaltiques, tholéites de fer et tholéites à haute teneur en magnésium, tandis que les séquences supérieures sont généralement de composition intermédiaire à felsique. Les intrusions mafiques sont volumineuses tout au long de la séquence stratigraphique, généralement visibles comme des seuils différenciés contemporains avec les strates volcaniques. De minces horizons de roches sédimentaires, composées d’argilites, de grauwackes et de conglomérats, sont intercalés dans toute la stratigraphie. Structurellement, les séquences volcaniques ont été fortement déformées à la suite d’au moins deux événements majeurs de déformation (2720-2690 Ma et 2690-2680 Ma) marqués par plusieurs plis régionaux dominants le noyau de la ceinture, et de nombreuses structures à tendance Nord-Est majeurs coupent transversalement la propriété. Un nombre important de petites veines de quartz d’or de haute qualité ont été découvertes à travers la ceinture, ainsi que plusieurs dépôts VMS de Zn-Cu-Ag-Au se produisant dans les parties méridionales de la ceinture. Ensemble, l’architecture structurelle combinée à des contraintes lithologiques favorables indiquent que le projet Frotet-Evans est très propice à une présence d’or orogénique significative, à l’or d’intrusion (p. ex. Troilus) et à une minéralisation VMS.

Une exploration historique systématique limitée a été réalisée dans l’ensemble des claims de Kenorland. La découverte d’échantillons de cuivre-nickel en 1958 a mené à une poussée du jalonnement, et à la découverte subséquente de nombreux gisements de VMS au sud de la propriété actuelle. Le corridor structurel de tendance Nord-Est et le gisement De Troilus Au-Cu ont été découverts au milieu des années 1980 à la suite de programmes d’exploration par Kerr Addison (prospection et échantillonnage des sédiments et des sols) concentrés le long de la moitié Ouest de la ceinture de roches vertes Frotet-Evans. La région a connu très peu d’exploration de suivi depuis les années 1980, mais les levés géophysiques modernes ont ajouté à la compréhension structurelle de l’architecture de la ceinture de roches vertes Frotet-Evans. Étant donné que la zone du projet est largement couverte de till glaciaire et de nombreux petits lacs, la stratégie de ciblage de Kenorland a été d’appliquer une approche d’exploration systématique au projet Frotet-Evans ; l’intégration des ensembles de données géochimiques et géophysiques modernes à la compréhension géologique actuelle de la région. Cette approche systématique a conduit à l’identification d’objectifs de suivi d’importance, qui sont actuellement à l’essai.

Le projet Frotet a été acquis par Kenorland par le biais du jalonnement de cartes en mars 2017 et a été mis en option pour Sumitomo Mining Metals Canada Limited (« SMMCL ») en avril 2018. Pendant l’été 2018, Kenorland a complété un programme d’échantillonnage du sol à l’échelle de la propriété (substrat de till) de plus de 55 921 ha sur une grille d’environ 1500 m x 150 m pour un total de 2 308 échantillons. À l’hiver 2018-2019, une étude aéromagnétique à haute résolution a été survolée par des zones d’anomalies en or-en-sol (Gold-in-soil). Au printemps 2019, une enquête LIDAR à l’échelle de l’ensemble des biens a été menée pour donner un contexte aux conditions de géologie et à la géologie structurelle. À l’été 2019, l’échantillonnage du sol intercalaire, l’échantillonnage des tills, la cartographie géologique et la prospection des rochers ont été effectués dans des zones anormales. Ces travaux ont défini la zone cible de Regnault, qui a été sélectionnée pour un premier programme de forage au diamant à l’hiver 2020. Avant que le forage au diamant ait lieu, Kenorland a effectué d’autres essais géophysiques, y compris un levé aéromagnétique à l’aide de drones à très haute résolution et une étude de polarisation induite en 3D pour aider à la délimitation des cibles de forage au diamant.

Size:
37,840 ha

Location:
Québec, Canada

Deposit Type(s):
Au Orogénique, Au d’intrusion, VMS

See all projects

fbpx
TSX.V: KLD $1.11-0.02

Frotet
Project

Location:
Quebec, Canada

Size:
39,365 ha

Stage:
Discovery

Deposit Type(s):
Orogenic Au, Intrusion-related Au, VMS

The Frotet Project covers 39,365 ha of the Frotet-Evans Archean greenstone belt within the Opatica geological sub-province of Quebec. The property is adjacent to the past-producing Troilus Au-Cu mine and covers several major deformation zones associated with known orogenic gold prospects, as well as stratigraphy hosting VMS deposits elsewhere in the belt.

The Frotet Project is held under an earn-in option to joint venture agreement with Sumitomo Metal Mining Canada Limted (SMMCL: 65%; Kenorland: 35%) where SMMCL has a further option to acquire an additional 15% interest, to hold a total 80% interest in the Frotet Project by funding an additional C$4 million in exploration expenditures by November 2021. Kenorland would then retain a 20% participating interest.  If either party is diluted below 10% their interest would convert to a 2% uncapped NSR.

Technical Presentation

Technical Report

The project is located 100 kilometers to the north of Chibougamau, Quebec. Favorable infrastructure exists in the project area with an extensive forestry road network as well as the Route-du-Nord crossing the southwestern portion of the property. A power transmission line also crosses through the property which supplied power to the past producing Troilus mine.

The Archean Frotet-Evans greenstone belt (2793-2755 Ma) is comprised of a volcanic package dominated by mafic to felsic metavolcanic rocks.  The lower volcanic sequences are mafic dominant, composed of basaltic komatiites and high magnesium to iron tholeiites, while the upper sequences are generally intermediate to felsic in composition.  Mafic intrusions are volumetrically abundant throughout the stratigraphic sequence, generally present as differentiated sills contemporaneous with the volcanic strata.  Thin horizons of sedimentary rocks, consisting of argillites, greywackes and minor conglomerates are intercalated throughout the stratigraphy. Structurally, the volcanic sequences have been strongly deformed as a result of at least two major deformation events (2720-2690 Ma and 2690-2680 Ma) marked by several regional-scale folds dominating the core of the belt, and numerous major NE trending structures transecting the property. A significant number of small, high grade gold-quartz veins have been discovered across the belt, as well as multiple Zn-Cu-Ag-Au VMS deposits occurring in the southern portions of the belt. Together, the structural architecture combined with favorable lithological constraints and proven fertility indicate the Frotet-Evans Project is highly prospective for significant orogenic gold, intrusion-related gold (e.g. Troilus) and VMS mineralization.

Limited systematic historic exploration has been completed across Kenorland’s claim package. The discovery of copper-nickel bearing float samples in 1958 led to a staking rush, and subsequent discovery of many of the VMS deposits to the south of the current property.  The NE trending structural corridor and Troilus Au-Cu deposit were discovered in the mid 1980’s as the result of reconnaissance exploration programs by Kerr Addison (lake sediment and soil sampling, and prospecting) concentrated along the western half of the Frotet-Evans greenstone belt. The area has seen very little follow-up exploration since the 1980’s, but modern geophysical surveys have added to the structural understanding of the Frotet-Evans greenstone belt architecture. As the project area is extensively covered with glacial till and many small lakes, Kenorland’s targeting strategy has been to apply a systematic exploration approach to the Frotet-Evans Project; integrating modern geochemical and geophysical datasets to the current geological understanding. This systematic approach has led to the identification of high-level follow-up targets, which are currently being tested.

The Frotet Project was acquired by Kenorland through map staking in March, 2017 and was optioned to Sumitomo Mining Metals Canada Limited (“SMMCL”) in April, 2018.  In summer of 2018, Kenorland completed a property-wide B-horizon soil sampling program (till substrate) over 55,921 ha on an approximate 1500m x 150m grid for a total of 2308 samples.  In winter of 2018-2019 a high-resolution helicopter-borne aeromagnetic survey was flown over areas of gold-in-soil anomalism.  In spring of 2019, a property-wide LIDAR survey was flown to give context to surficial geology conditions and structural geology.  In summer of 2019, infill soil sampling, till sampling, geologic mapping and boulder prospecting were conducted in anomalous areas.  This work defined the Regnault target area, which was selected for a maiden diamond drilling program in winter of 2020. Prior to diamond drilling Kenorland conducted further geophysical testing including a very high-resolution drone-based aeromagnetic survey and an induced polarisation (IP) survey to aide in the delineation of diamond drill targets.

The maiden drill program at the Regnault target consisted of 6,000m of diamond drill core, which intersected significant gold mineralization in 8 out of the 15 holes testing various geological and geophysical targets. A follow-up 1,800m diamond drill program in the summer of 2020 also intersected significant gold mineralization in the Regnault target area, including in a newly identified gold-bearing structure. Upon discovery of a mineralized system at Regnault, Kenorland entered into an option agreement with O3 Mining to acquire the mineral rights to the south of the Regnault target, which is referred to as the Regnault South area. Detailed helicopter-borne aeromagnetic data and detailed B-horizon soils have been collected during the summer of 2020 and a detailed 3D IP survey has been conducted to infill the previous IP data over Regnault and extends into the Regnault South area. A 3rd phase of diamond drilling at Regnault, including Regnault South is scheduled to commence in the winter of 2021.

May 26 2021

Kenorland Minerals intersects 90.56 g/t Au over 5.72m at Regnault

View PDF

April 14 2021

Kenorland Minerals Ltd. and Sumitomo Metal Mining Canada Ltd. Announce Additional 2021 Exploration Budget

View PDF

March 4 2021

Kenorland Commences Drilling at Regnault on the Frotet Project in Quebec

View PDF

January 19 2021

Kenorland Extends Till Anomaly and Commences 3D IP Survey at Regnault

View PDF

January 13 2021

Kenorland Minerals Ltd. Debuts on the TSX Venture Exchange

View PDF